قد تصادفكم حالات يعاني فيها المريض من صعوبات تمنعه من الامتثال لبرنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ بالرغم من وجود نية بالامتثال. نورد لكم بعض الأسباب المحتملة التي قد تمنع شخصاً ما من الالتزام بالوجبات المحددة له، مع مجموعة من الإجابات المناسبة لمساعدتكم في توجيهه.

تتم دعوتي إلى الكثير من النشاطات الاجتماعية خارج المنزل وتقدم فيها وجبات طعام، ولا أريد أن تفوتني هذه النشاطات.

الجواب الذي نقترحه في المرحلة المكثفة: هذا أمر طبيعي، بإمكانك الاستمتاع بالنشاطات الاجتماعية أثناء إتباعك لبرنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™. لا ينبغي أن تتوقف حياتك، مع ذلك حاول أن تصب اهتمامك على الجوانب الأخرى للنشاطات الاجتماعية، مثل الاستمتاع برفقة الناس من حولك والمكان عوضاً عن التركيز فقط على الطعام والشراب. كما يمكنك تناول وجبتك من منتجات OPTIFAST® VLCD™ قبل خروجك ومن ثم يمكنك تناول سلطة فيها خضراوات بنشا قليل، أو شوربة ميزو (اليابانية)، أو خضراوات مطبوخة بالزيت، أو سلطة خضراء دون صلصات دسمة. تجنب قدر المستطاع المأكولات التي فيها بروتينات وكربوهيدرات. إن كان لا بدّ من تناول مأكولات أخرى غير السلطات والخضار، ففي هذه الحالة استعض عن منتج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ بقطعة صغيرة من البروتين، مثل 100 غرام من اللحم الأحمر أو الدجاج، أو بعض السمك، أو البيض. ابذل جهدك لتجنب الكربوهيدرات فهي تؤثر سلباُ على الحالة الكيتوزية، والجأ إلى شرب المياه المعدنية مع إضافة رشة من الليمون أو عصير الليمون الحامض إليها.

الجواب الذي نقترحه في مرحلتي الانتقال والوقاية: حسنًا لا تحرم نفسك من النشاطات الاجتماعية. يمكنك اختيار اللحم المشوي، أو الدجاج، أو السمك مع سلطة جانبية أو خضار مطبوخة (قليلة النشا)، واحرص على فصل الصلصات عن الوجبة أو السلطة حتى تتحكم بالكمية التي تأكلها ويفضّل أن تمتنع نهائيًا عن تناول الصلصات. اختر وجبتك بنفسك وابتعد عن البوفيه أو مشاركة وجبتك مع أشخاص آخرين. وإن استطعت الحصول على نسخة من قائمة الطعام قبل خروجك سيتيح لك الوقت الكافي لاختيار الصنف المناسب لك.

أجد صعوبات في تناول منتجات OPTIFAST® VLCD™ أثناء تواجدي في عملي.

إذا وجدت أن إعداد المشروبات المخفوقة أمر غير عملي في العمل، فاستعض عن المشروبات بألواح السناك OPTIFAST® VLCD™، فهي لا تحتاج منك أي تحضير، بالإضافة إلى تناول السلطة، فهي تمد جسمك بالألياف والمعادن والفيتامينات اللازمة، كما أنها تضفي عليك شعور بتناول وجبة غداء اعتيادية في العمل. ونقترح عليك تجربة استخدام قارورة الرياضيين فهي تساعدك على إعداد المشروب المخفوق خلال ثواني معدودة. فقط عليك إضافة البودرة إلى 200 ملم من الماء البارد (أو أكثر) وضغط غطاء القارورة وخلطها.

أنا معتاد على تناول وجبات خفيفة (سناك) بين الوجبات الرئيسية.

لا ينبغي حصر تناول منتجات OPTIFAST® VLCD™ ضمن أوقات الوجبات الرئيسية فقط. حاول مثلًا تقسيم أصابع السناك OPTIFAST® VLCD™ إلى قطعتين وتناول القطعة الأولى مع فنجان الشاي في الصباح واحتفظ بالقطعة الثاينة لفنجان الظهيرة، واستمتع بتناول السلطة والخضار المطبوخة كوجبة غداء. أما بين الوجبات فتستطيع تجربة شوربة الميزو أو الجيلو الخاص بالحمية، وتذكر دائمًا يمكنك اللجوء إلى وجبات صغيرة من الخضراوات قليلة النشا متى شئت. إذا كنت تتبع مرحلة الانتقال أو الوقاية أو الاستقرار والتثبيت من برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™، يمكنك أكل قطعة أو قطعتين من الفاكهة أو 150 غرام من اللبن قليل الدسم كوجبة صغيرة بين الوجبات الرئيسية. احرص على شرب الكثير من الماء والنوم لساعات كافية حتى لا تختلط عليك علامات الجوع مع العطش أو التعب.

أنا أشعر بالجوع الشديد، البرنامج قاسي جدًا

تتراجع شهية الكثير من الناس بعد إنقضاء الأسبوع الأول من المرحلة المكثفة من برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™. إذا تجنبت تناول المزيد من الكربوهيدرات، سيدخل جسمك في الحالة الكيتوزية التي هي عبارة عن ردة فعل كيميائية تؤدي إلى خفض شهيتك. في حال كنت فعلًا تجد صعوبة في الالتزام بالبرنامج، بإمكانك إضافة بعض اللحوم الخالية من الدهون أو السمك أثناء الأسبوع الأول، أي قبل الدخول في الحالة الكيتوزية لتخفف من الشعور بالجوع. يتفاجأ عدد كبير من الناس بأن الالتزام بالوجبات المحددة في المرحلة المكثفة أسهل من المرحلة اللاحقة التي تكون فيها الحالة الكيتوزية لا تكاد تظهر أو حتى غائبة. تذكر دائمًا، عليك الالتزام بالتعليمات المحددة في برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ وتناول الأطعمة الموصى بها في الخطة فقط، إضافةً إلى استهلاك منتجات OPTIFAST® VLCD™. حتى لا تختلط عليك مؤشرات الجوع مع مؤشرات الجسم الأخرى، ثابر يوميًا على إتباع التوصيات من شرب الماء (2 ليتر)، وتناول وجبات الخضراوات قليلة النشا، والنوم لساعات كافية كل ليلة. اسأل نفسك عن حقيقة شعورك، هل هو نابع عن جوع حقيقي أم فقط شعور بالملل أو التوتر؟

أعاني من الإمساك

عادة ما يسبب البرنامج الغذائي المتكامل (بديل الوجبات) تغييرات جذرية في تناول الطعام واستهلاكه بالنسبة لمعظم الناس، وقد يشمل ذلك تغييرات في الأمعاء. كما أن عدم تناول السوائل قد يسبب الإمساك، وعدم تناول الخضراوات قليلة النشا قد يسبب نقصان الكمية اللازمة من الألياف (الألياف غير القابلة للذوبان). من الضروري التمييز بين استخدام الحمام مرات أقل وبين الإمساك الحقيقي، فمن الطبيعي انخفاض عدد المرات عندما تستهلك كميات أقل من الطعام، أما الإمساك فيشخّص عندما يتغير القِوام. عندما يعاني مريضك من الإمساك، فانصحه بتناول ما يزيد عن فنجانين من الخضراوات قليلة النشا وشرب 2-3 ليتر من السوائل، مع ممارسة الرياضة يوميًا بما يساعد الأمعاء على الانتظام والبقاء بحالة صحية جيدة. إذا استمر الإمساك، بإمكان المريض الاستعانة بالألياف الإضافية مثل (Nutrisource Fiber or Metamucil Fiber) أو قشر السيللوم (psyllium husk).

البرنامج مملل جدًا

عند الاستمرار ببرنامج أو بنمط ما لفترة طويلة من الزمن، فمن الطبيعي أن تشعر بالملل. لإضفاء القليل من الإثارة، بإمكانك تنويع منتجات OPTIFAST® VLCD™ التي تتناولها كل يوم، عوضًا عن تناول نفس المنتجات كل يوم. كما يمكنك تغيير طرق إعدادك للسلطة والخضار، تجنب أكلهم دون أية إضافات، وحاول إضافة الأعشاب الطازجة أو المجففة والتوابل، و اشترِ خضراوات لم تعتد أكلها من قبل من باب التغيير. إضافة الكثير من الألوان إلى وجبتك، حيث أن تزيين الطبقيفتح شهيتك ويزود جسمك بمجموعات الفيتامينات والمعادن الضرورية للحفاظ على صحتك بأفضل حال.

إنه فصل الشتاء ومجرد فكرة المشروبات المخفوقة والسلطات لا تروق لي في الطقس البارد.

حاول تحضير المشروبات المخفوقة بالماء الدافئ وليس المغلي وجرب أيضًا شوربات OPTIFAST® VLCD™. غالبًا ما يتحول الناس عن تناول السلطات إلى تناول الخضراوات المطبوخة (الدافئة) في فصل الشتاء، وبإمكانك أنت أيضاً عند إتباع برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ اللجوء إلى هذا الحل، فلديك خيارات عديدة ومتنوعة من الخضراوات قليلة النشا، اطبخها والتف بغطائك وتناولها أمام المدفأة. وننصحك بإعداد حساء شهي ودافئ من الخضراوات المسموحة مستفيدًا من وصفاتنا الصحية المعروضة في موقعنا الالكتروني.

جميع الأشخاص الذين أعرفهم قلقون لاتباعي نظام غذائي صارم جدًا

أثبتت الاختبارات العلمية والغذائية المكثفة أن برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ آمن وناجح، فهو برنامج شامل يتضمن الدعم والاستشارة والمراقبة الطبية وتزويد المريض بالمعرفة لإتباع أسلوب حياة صحي، فضلًا عن مجموعة المنتجات المتنوعة واللذيذة. كل ذلك لمساعدتك في خسارة وزنك بسرعة وتحسين وضعك الصحي العام. طمئن من يقلق عليك بأن وسيلة إنقاص الوزن هذه آمنة جداً وتدعمها أبحاث كثيرة، وأخبرهم بأنك تحصل على حاجة جسمك من العناصر الغذائية وتتلقى الإشراف الطبي.

يقول لي الناس بأنني خسرت وزنًا بما فيه الكفاية ويجب أن أتوقف.

من الصعوبة بمكان تعودك على عادات أكل جديدة وشكل جسم جديد، ولكن قد يعاني الأشخاص من حولك أكثر منك. إن التغييرات الجذرية الصحية التي تطرأ على حياتك، يمكن أن تستفز الناس لمراجعة أنفسهم، لربما هم بحاجة للتغيير أيضاً. سيتابع أخصائي الرعاية الصحية التقدم الذي تحرزه فيما يتعلق بوزنك وسيزودك بنصائح للتأقلم والتعامل مع الناس من حولك.

باتت كافة ثيابي غير مناسبة، يجب أن أتوقف.

بالرغم من أن فكرة الذهاب إلى متجر الملابس تبدو شاقة، لكن ينبغي ألا تثبط رغبتك في الحصول على وزن صحي. التغيير أمر جيد وخصوصًا عندما يعني التقدم والتحرك بالاتجاه الصحيح. قم باستعارة بعض الملابس من أصدقائك أو أفراد عائلتك لحين استقرار جسمك على الحجم المطلوب، فأنت لا تريد شراء الكثير من الملابس كون قياسك سيتغير عدة مرات، سواء أكان فستان أو بنطال. بإمكانك أيضاً التسوق من المحلات التي تقدم خصومات كبيرة، أو حتى استئجار بدلة عمل أثناء المرحلة المكثفة لحين وصولك للوزن الذي تهدف إليه.

يبدو أن طاقتي غير كافية للتمرين في صالة الألعاب الرياضية.

خسارة الوزن تعتمد على الحصول على طاقة أقل مما تحرقه. التمارين الرياضية القاسية موجهة في غالبها لحرق الكربوهيدرات، ولكنك في المرحلة المكثفة من برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ تستهلك كمية قليلة جدًا من الكربوهيدرات، لذلك قد يكون أسهل عليك القيام بالتمرينات الأبسط مع رفع أوزان بسيطة. ربما عليك تغيير الوقت الذي تمارس فيه الرياضة لتجنب تأثير تعب اليوم على أدائك. اختر التمارين الرياضية التي تستمع بممارستها ، واستمتع برفقة صديق أثناء ممارسة الرياضة. لا تتوقف عن الرياضة، إن كنت مضطراً قم بتخفيض وتيرة التمارين والمدة، فالرياضة تحسن الاستقلاب وتساعدك على الاحتفاظ بالنسيج العضلي مع حرق الدهون بجسمك. تذكر دوماً شُرب كمياتٍ كافية من السوائل والنوم لساعات كافية، مما يحسن طاقتك ويحفزك للتمرين.

تراودني نوبات صداع متكررة.

يُطلق على الأيام القليلة الأولى من المرحلة المكثفة من برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ ‘تحدي الأيام الثلاثة’ ، فقد تعاني من بعض الأعراض الجانبية أثناء انتقال جسمك إلى الحالة الكيتوزية ، مثل:

  • الإرهاق
  • الجوع
  • الغثيان
  • الصداع
  • نقصان القدرة على التركيز

لن يكون أمراً سهلاً عليك، لكنه سينقضي خلال اليومين الرابع والسادس، كما أنك ستلاحظ ارتفاع طاقتك وانخفاض شهيتك، مما يسهم في نجاحك في خسارة وزنك والحفاظ على ما خسرته من كيلوغرامات. من الضروري أن تتذكر أن هذه الأعراض شائعة وأن تلتزم بخطة إنقاص وزنك المحددة، وإلا فإنك ستطيل هذه الفترة القصيرة والمزعجة قليلًا من برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™ وأنت بغنى عن ذلك.

وزني لا ينقص.

هذا أمر مستبعد جدًا في المرحلة المكثفة من برنامج OPTIFAST® VLCD™. في حال عدم خسارة وزن رغم التزامك بالخطة المحددة، ينبغي البحث في الأسباب. إن كنت لم تمارس الرياضة بعد، فحان الوقت للمشي أو الاشتراك بصالة الألعاب الرياضية، فلقد أثبتت الأبحاث أن ضم الجهد العضلي إلى برنامج بسعرات حرارية منخفضة يحافظ على البنية العضلية الممشوقة ويخفف من الكتلة الدهنية. إذا كنت قد بدأت للتو في التمرين، فعليك تحديد خط بداية للجهد العضلي من أجل متابعة تقدمك وزيادة الجهد بالتدريج. في حال كنت لا تزال تشعر بالقلق إزاء وزنك تحدث مع أخصائي الرعاية الصحية للبحث في الأسباب.

يبدو أن الوزن بدأ بالاستقرار فلم يعد ينقص كالسابق. .

المرور بفترات خمول يتوقف فيها الوزن عن النقصان أمر غير مستبعد عند إتباع برنامج طويل الأمد لإنقاص الوزن. تذكر أنه عند خسارتك للوزن تصبح حركة جسمك أخف وبالتالي يحتاج إلى نسبة أقل من الطاقة (حرق سعرات حرارية أقل) عند قيامك بنشاطاتك اليومية أو التمرينات الرياضية. راجع برنامجك وتأكد من أنك لم تحد عنه. فكر ببدائل لتساعدك في إنقاص وزنك، مثل زيادة وتيرة التمارين الرياضية حتى تحرق سعرات حرارية أكثر أو فكر بطرق لزيادة نشاطك اليومي ، أي زيادة الحركة خارج أوقات التمرين. عدّاد الخطوات (pedometer) أداة ممتازة لمساعدتك في زيادة نشاطك الحركي، بدايةً ضع هدف 7000-8000 خطوة باليوم ومن ثم زده لـ 10000 حتى تصل إلى مستوى عالي من النشاط 15000 خطوة في اليوم.

بخصوص ملفات تعريف الارتباط على هذا الموقع الالكتروني

نوجه عنايتكم إلى أن هذا الموقع الالكتروني يستخدم نظام ملفات تعريف الارتباط وغيرها من التقنيات الأخرى، والتي تتيح لنا ولشركائنا أن نتذكر الكيفية التي تستخدمون من خلالها هذا الموقع الالكتروني. وبمجرد استخدامك لهذا الموقع الالكتروني لاحقاً، تعتبر قد وافقت بالفعل على هذه التقنية. لمزيد من المعلومات يرجى التفضل بالاطلاع على سياسة الخصوصية لدينا.

لقد قمت بقراءة سياسة الخصوصية الخاصة بنستله. لا تقم باظهار هذه الرسالة مرة اخرى
x

Disclaimer

This website contains material about Nestlé Health Science products. Nestlé provides this material for the information and education of Health Care Professionals. If you choose to view this material, you are accepting that:

  • You are a Health Care Professional.
  • This material is supplied at your individual request, for educational purposes.
  • This material does not substitute for, or replace, the advice of a qualified Health Care Professional.
  • The material is provided for professional use only and must not be used for any other purpose.

I AGREEI DON’T AGREE

Despite the best intentions there may be circumstances in which a patient is finding it difficult to comply with the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program. Listed below are some possible reasons as to why someone may not have followed their meal plan and appropriate answers to help guide you.

I have too many social outings involving eating out and I don’t want to miss out on these.

Suggested answer for Phase: Intensive – That’s ok; you can still enjoy social occasions whilst on the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program. Your life doesn’t have to stop nor should it have too. Try to focus on the other aspects of socializing such as the people you are with and the location rather than focusing solely on the food and drink. Try having your OPTIFAST® VLCD™ product prior to going out and then choose a low starch salad or vegetables. Try a Miso soup, stir-fry vegetables, or a garden salad with the dressing on the side (no creamy sauces). If possible, skip the protein and carbohydrates on offer. If you must eat something other than just the vegetables or salad, miss the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ product for that meal and opt for a small portion of protein such as 100g meat or chicken, some fish or eggs. If possible, avoid the carbohydrates as this will affect ketosis. Try some mineral water with a spritz of lemon or lime instead.

Suggested answer for phase: Transition or Maintenance – That’s ok; you don’t need to miss out on your social outings. Choose grilled meat, chicken or fish with a side salad or cooked low starch vegetables. Always ask for the sauce/ dressing on the side so you can control the amount that is put on the meal (if any). Always pick your own meal, avoid banquets and sharing meals. If possible get a copy of the menu prior to going out so you can take your time to review the menu options.

I am finding it difficult to have OPTIFAST® VLCD™ at work.

If making the shakes at work is just not practical, try taking the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Bars instead. This way you don’t need to prepare anything. Remember to always include a salad along with the bar as this will help fill you up with fibre, vitamins and minerals as well as helping you feel as though you are consuming a regular work lunch. Another idea is to use a wide brim sports bottle to mix up your OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Shakes. Simply add the powder to the bottle, add 200mL or more of chilled water, pop on the lid and shake.

I am used to having a snack between meals.

OPTIFAST® VLCD™ products do not have to be restricted to meal times only. You can try splitting an OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Bar in two, and having half at morning tea, the other half at afternoon tea and have a salad or cooked vegetables at lunch. You could also try Miso soup or diet jelly between meals, and don’t forget that low-starch vegetables can be nibbled on at any time. If you are on the Transition, Maintenance or Stabilization phases of the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program, 1-2 pieces of fruit or a low-fat yoghurt (~150g) can be consumed as a snack between meals. Make sure you are drinking plenty of water and getting adequate sleep each night to make sure your hunger signals are not really signals of thirst or tiredness.

I am just too hungry, it is too restrictive.

If followed correctly, most people find after the first week, appetite is actually suppressed during the Intensive phase of the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program. If additional carbohydrates are avoided, your body should enter a state of ketosis and this chemical reaction in turn reduces your appetite. If you are really struggling to stick to the program, you can include some lean meat or fish in the first week prior to the onset of ketosis to help manage hunger phase. Many people are surprised that the Intensive phase may actually be easier to adhere to than the later phase in the diet when ketosis is mild or not present. Remember to stick to the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program and only have the foods recommended on the plan along with your OPTIFAST® VLCD™ products. To make sure the signals of hunger are not getting confused with other body signs, drink the recommended 2 liters of water daily, have the recommended serving of low starch vegetables and get sufficient sleep each night. Ask yourself if it is true hunger or whether you are eating because you are bored or stressed.

I am getting constipated.

A complete meal replacement program is usually a dramatic change of intake for most people, and this can cause changes in bowel habits. In addition, if the recommended fluid and low starch vegetables are not consumed, a lack of fiber (dietary bulk) and fluid can cause a dramatic change. It’s important to know the difference between going less frequently and true constipation. It is normal to go less frequently when you are consuming less food and only considered true constipation if the consistency is also affected. Try to consume more than the recommended 2 cups of low starch vegetables per day, drink 2-3 liters of fluid, as well exercise daily to help keep your bowels healthy and regular. If you still find that you are constipated try a fiber supplement such as Nutrisource Fiber, Metamucil or psyllium husk.

It is too boring.

When you stick to the same thing for a long period anything can become boring. To make things a little more interesting, vary the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ products as much as possible rather than sticking to the same products each day. Also play around with the way you prepare your salads and vegetables. Don’t just have them plain - try adding fresh or dried herbs and spices, and buy vegetables you wouldn’t normally eat to create variety. Adding lots of different colors on the plate is important to help make the meal look appealing, whilst also getting a range of vitamins and minerals which are vital for optimal health.

It is winter and the thought of having shakes and salads is not comforting in the cold weather.

Try making your Shakes with warm water (not boiling) or try the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Soups. During the winter months we often divert from salads to cooked vegetables, so do the same on the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program. There are plenty of low starch vegetables you can cook up to have a warm meal to eat while snuggling up in front of the heater. Why not make a hearty winter soup from the allowed vegetables or see our list of healthy recipes on the website.

Everyone around me is concerned that the diet is too strict.

The OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program has been clinically proven to be successful and safe. It combines support and counselling, comprehensive lifestyle education and medical monitoring with a great-tasting product range to help you lose weight fast and significantly improve your general wellbeing. Ensure those around you that this is a well-researched and very safe method of weight loss. That you are meeting your nutritional requirements and are being medically supervised.

People keep saying I have lost enough weight and should stop.

It’s hard enough for individuals to adjust to their new eating habits and body image, but it is common and sometimes even harder for others around you to adjust. Dramatically changing to a healthier lifestyle can start people questioning themselves and whether they need to change too. Your healthcare professional will advise you on your weight loss progress, and provide tips to help deal with the adjustment you and the people around you are making.

I don’t fit into any of my clothes anymore, I will have to stop.

Although visiting the clothing store seems like a daunting experience, it’s not a reason to stop your desire to be a healthier weight. Change is a good thing when it means progression and moving in the right direction. Ask friends and family to borrow clothes while you transition into your new body size, as you won’t want to buy too many clothes if you plan to lose many more dress or pant sizes. You may consider shopping at opportunity stores or hiring a business suit during the Intensive phase of weight loss or until you have reached your goal weight.

I don’t seem to have enough energy at the gym.

Weight loss is all about eating less energy than what you are burning. High intensity exercise uses predominantly carbohydrates. On the Intensive phase of the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program you are consuming very little carbohydrates, therefore you may find lower intensity exercise and weights a little easier to handle. You may also want to change the time you exercise – so tiredness from the day doesn’t play a factor. Choosing exercise that you enjoy will always improve motivation levels, as can exercising with a friend. Even if your exercise intensity and duration slightly reduces (but not to nothing) while you are on the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program, some exercise is still better than none as it greatly improves your metabolism and helps you preserve metabolic muscle tissue while burning the fat in your body. Remember, drinking sufficient fluids and getting adequate sleep will also help improve your energy and motivation to exercise.

I keep getting headaches.

The first few days of the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program Intensive phase is known as ‘The 3 Day Challenge’ because, as the body transitions into ketosis, you may experience some side effects such as:

  • Fatigue
  • Hunger
  • Nausea
  • Headaches
  • Lack of concentration

This doesn’t sound pleasant, but most symptoms pass by days 4-6, followed by an increase in energy and reduction in appetite, of which, through this dietary phase will result in consistent and successful weight loss. It is important that you know these are typical symptoms and you should stick to the weight loss plan as prescribed, or you will simply prolong this slightly uncomfortable few days of your OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program.

I’m not losing any weight.

This is very unlikely on the Intensive phase of the OPTIFAST® VLCD™ Program. If you are not losing weight and you are sticking to the plan as prescribed, then reasons for your inadequate weight loss may need to be explored. If you haven't been exercising, consider starting walking or going to the gym. The combined effects of exercise plus a VLED have been shown to increase the retention of lean muscle mass and reduce fat mass. If just starting out with exercise it is important to establish a baseline which can be improved upon each week. If you are concerned with your weight loss, speak to your healthcare professional for further investigation.

I seem to have hit a plateau and my weight is not moving any more.

It is not unusual to experience a plateau during an extended weight loss program. Remember, as you lose weight, the energy cost of moving your lighter body during daily tasks and exercise is much less, which makes it harder to burn up the calories. Review your plan and make sure that it is still on track. Other things you may need to consider are increasing the intensity of your exercise in order to burn more calories or alternatively look at ways to increase your daily activity levels; that is the amount of movement you are doing during the rest of your day. A pedometer is a great tool to measure this. Aim for 7,000-8,000 steps with a goal of reaching 10,000 steps per day. Around 15,000 steps/day is quite active.

About cookies on this site

Our site uses cookies and other technologies so that we, and our partners, can remember you and understand how you use our site. Further use of this site will be considered consent. For more information, visit our Privacy Policy.

I have read and understood the Nestlé Privacy Notice. Do not show this message again.
x